The Silk Series Shortlisted For The Women’s Sport Trust #BeAGameChanger Awards


27 March 2018

Women’s Sport Trust has today revealed the 56 individuals, organisations and initiatives who have made the shortlist for the 2018 #BeAGameChanger Awards. The Silk Series is shortlisted in the National Inspirational Initiative category, alongside England Athletics, England Rugby’s Inner Warrior Campaign, She Rallies, TeamUp and Women’s Adventure Expo CIC.

The awards bring together the visionaries and game changers driving the future of women’s sport for one of the biggest nights in the sporting calendar.  

Afghan-Danish Manchester City striker, refugee and trainee surgeon Nadia Nadim, most capped GB hockey player and Olympic gold medalist Alex Danson, and England centurion and Chelsea forward Eniola Aluko are amongst the Women’s Sport Trust #BeAGameChanger Awards 2018 shortlist, along with The Silk Series.

One of the awards is Individual Sporting Role Model, awarded to an elite athlete who has used their influence to drive forward women’s sport. This year’s shortlist includes England hockey captain and Olympic medalist Alex Danson, first woman to sail non-stop around the world solo Dee Caffari, England centurion and Chelsea forward Eniola Aluko, GB wheelchair racer and ten-time world champion Hannah Cockroft, Afghan-Danish Manchester City striker Nadia Nadim and professional boxer Stacey Copeland. Past winners include Nicola Adams MBE, Andy Murray and Dame Sarah Storey. 

Other categories include: Sporting Role Model – Team; Ambassador of Women’s Sport; National Governing Body of the Year; Brand / Sponsor Partnership of the Year; Inspiring Initiative – National and Local; Media Initiative of the Year; and Imagery of the Year. An award for Outstanding Contribution to Women’s Sport will be chosen by Women’s Sport Trust and presented on the night of the awards. 

Jo Bostock, Co-founder and Joint CEO of the Women’s Sport Trust commented “Why is the Women’s Sport Trust so committed to running the #BeAGameChanger Awards? Because compelling stories about the trailblazers need to be told. They set the pace and show what’s possible. Most importantly they stimulate other brands, sport and the media to step up and take action. Building this momentum will ensure the future of women’s sport.”

Following a public nomination process, the shortlist was agreed by the Women’s Sport Trust Board. The finalists in each category will be chosen by an expert panel before a public vote decides the winners. The winners will be announced at the #BeAGameChanger Awards on 24 May 2018 at Troxy, East London.

Silk Series

Racecourse logo